Interesting this… when I signed up to eMusic I created an unique email address on one of my domains for the account. The only place I used this address was on the eMusic.com sign up form. Now I’m starting to receive spam on that address, and only on that address. After checking on the net, it appears they share their user database with anyone and everyone. Thank goodness I can just drop the address…
UPDATE: Oh and I just got another spam e-mail, and the To address just happened to contain the 2 unique addresses I had used to sign up to Emusic with (I cancelled and tried it again about 18 months later). Coincidence I think not!!
Before you go blaming eMusic, make sure the first part of your email address wasn’t a common word, title, or name. Spambots regularly do dictionary attacks on any domain they can find. They try to send mail to every word, name, or title in their list at a particular domain in hope of getting one that works. That is actually most likely what happened.
The username of the email address wasn’t a proper noun or something that would be in a dictionary. Also I have addresses on the same domain that what be found in a dictionary attack and these receive no spam. And after googling, I read that I’m not the only person this has happened to. So I did check my facts before posting
No, it’s not a conincidence…
I actualy wanted to sign-up with them, but started receiving SPAM messages on my “dedicated emusic address” at the beggining of july. I have sent them a report and a question to clarify how serious the problem might be, but I still haven’t received any answer. Considering this, there is absolutely no chance they will ever get my credit card information. If I would have already bought something from them, I would already be canceling the card used in purchase.
I used a spamgourmet disposable address (which I always begin with the name of the company I am signing up with) and the emusic address is being pounded with frequent and inappropriate spam emails. It took a few months before they started coming in so they must have held them a while before selling. I just sent them an inquiry. It is a shame because I just got an ipod and would probably have considered them but not if they are such an irresponsible company. I used a new disposable address to contact them so I wonder if I’ll see spam coming from that one too.